Skip to content

Christian Fantasy Novels

December 22, 2009

Circle Trilogy

I do believe you have to watch what some Christians recommend, because good versus evil is not the only basis of what makes something Christian.  In fact, I was talking to a fellow Christian the other day who said they don’t see anything wrong with books like the Harry Potter series because she thought it was just a part of growing up.  Christians who have never dealt with occult practices may not even think twice about witches or vampires.  Maybe to these people, the spirit world isn’t real, just fantasy.

Reading a few excerpts from the Bible (like Acts 16:16 where the lady had a spirit of divination cast out of her and Acts 19:19 where people burned their books on spiritism and other books of this sort) tells me something different.  It tells me that the spirit world is real and that some are affected by things they cannot see.  God is supernatural, so it should be no suprise to people that the supernatural exists.  I’m not saying that we live in a fantasy world where we could suddenly grow wings and fly, unless God made it so, but that there is more to these novels than some would want to believe.

War in Heaven

Author, Theodore Beale wrote, “In my opinion…the only characteristic which serves to identify a book as Christian is one that is written from the foundational perspective that the resurrected Jesus Christ is the Lord and Savior of humanity.”  Without being schooled in the Bible as a young Christian, it wasn’t too hard for me to figure this out.  So things like Tarot cards and trying to contact the dead were not a good thing to do.  Being a fictional character in a book does not change this. Showing that occultish things happen is different from saying it’s okay to do.

Finding reading material and tv shows/films that we can watch with good conscience can be a problem.  Recently, I came across a website recommending Christian Fantasy books, but even with that, the first book I purchased from the list showed one of the good guys doing a form of witchraft in the first 10 pages. Hopefully they took that book off their list and are not okay with these types of practices.

Curse of Spider King

In my search, I did come across a few Christian authors who have written fantasy books: Wayne Thomas Batson (Curse of the Spider King, The Door Within, The Rise of the Wyrm Lord), Thoedore Beale (Rebel Moon, The War In Heaven, The Wrath of Angels), and Ted Dekker (Thr3e, Red, Black, Elyon).  I haven’t personally read these books as of yet, but based on reviews and reading exerts from their books, I don’t believe any of the heroes/heroins practice any witchcraft in these books. 

These authors give Christians an alternative to temptations like Harry Potter and the Twilight vampire series.  There is a wave of popularity with authors who are Christian, so hopefully, for those of us looking for forms of entertainment in line with our beliefs, we will see more  Christian authors writing in this genre.

God bless.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 4:58 pm

    I would love for you to check out and even review my novel. It is called THE CALLING A VOICE IN THE DEAD WOODS, I have placed a link on this comment where you can view the trailer, read a sample, reviews etc. I am not self published, but with a small Christian Publishing Company and I have been so busy with my day job, (writer for a Talk Show) that I haven’t gotten a chance to send out more copies to reviewers like yourself. Thank you for your time, and I hope to hear back from you, Jacob

    http://www.jacobisrael.org/trailer.htm

    My personal email is: thomascalls@aol.com – Peace to you and yours.

    • Jennifer Winland permalink*
      February 27, 2010 2:21 am

      Ordered it for review!

      • February 27, 2010 2:09 pm

        Jennifer,

        I am so excited, I would have sent you a complimentary copy. Here is a hint for you, I hid a lot of stuff away inside the story itself. Look for anagrams, and lots of allegory… but here is one hint for you… When you are done reading it. String all the chapter titles together, there may be a secret message for the reader, Peace to you and I am grateful for this. Jacob

  2. May 30, 2010 5:17 pm

    Tolkien’s The Lord of the Rings is not only one of the greatest fantasy novels of all time, but (in the words of its author) “a fundamentally religious and Catholic work.” Tolkien’s worldview is quite Biblical, and in LOTR the battle between good and evil is based on moral absolutes, not the “feel-good” moral relativism we get in much of today’s SF/F.

    C. S. Lewis, the great Christian apologist and author of The Chronicles of Narnia, was converted from atheism to Christianity due, in part, to the influence of his good friend Tolkien. In 1939, Lewis wrote “…any amount of theology can now be smuggled into people’s minds under the cover of romance without their knowing it.” Lewis did precisely that in his Space Trilogy novels and in the seven Narnia books.

    I blog about both of these authors and J. K. Rowling at http://phoenixweasley.wordpress.com. I am the author of a book entitled The Lord of the Hallows: Christian Symbolism and Themes in J. K. Rowling’s Harry Potter. In the book I explain much of the religious meaning of the Harry Potter series in comparison with the fiction of Tolkien and Lewis. Rowling herself has explained that the two Scripture verses that she quoted in Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows “sum up–they almost epitomize the whole series.” My book explains what she may have meant by that. More information is available at my blog. Please visit it if you get the chance.

  3. June 23, 2010 6:29 pm

    I agree. There are some fantasy books labelled as Christian that in fact contain magic and other evil things. As an aspiring author of fantasy and thriller books (I have completed two manuscripts), my goal is to weave the truth of Jesus in all of the books while providing an intense adventure for the reader.

Leave a Reply

